St Joseph

The Parish Fabrics and Finance Committee

The Finance Committee of St. Augustine’s parish was established in 1984 and the Finance Committee for St Joseph’s somewhat later (in the early 1990s).

In 2007 both committees merged to be responsible for the fabric of the Church properties and financial matters covering the joint parishes of St Augustine, St Joseph in Weymouth and and that of Our Lady and St Andrew on Portland Island.

The Committee members are listed below.


The main functions of the committee are defined in Canon Law. It is responsible to the Diocese but it keeps the Parish informed of all its activities through the Parish Council. Comments on all Financial matters from the Council Members and from parishioners are encouraged and are always greatly appreciated.

The Committee’s responsibility to maintain all Parish property and the contents is of particular importance. St Augustine’s Church and its Presbytery are both “listed” buildings, and their long term management is a high priority.


The Committee’s aim has always been to avoid borrowing from the Diocese, even when major financial problems can be seen to be looming. It is therefore vital that the Parish income should maintained at a sufficient high level both to meet current expenses and to provide for future requirements.

Giving via the Envelope or Covenant Schemes

Our income is derived almost entirely from weekly giving, bequests and donations. While it tries to encourage all other forms of giving, the Committee is especially concerned with the Planned Giving through the Envelope Scheme and with the Covenant Scheme.

All personal details connected with giving through these schemes are treated with complete confidence and are known only to one other designated member of the Committee.

If any parishioner, particularly one new to the Parish, would be willing to join in the support of the parish through either scheme or to increase their contribution, please contact the Parish Priest, who will provide further information.


The finance committee is currently constituted as follows:

Father Stephen Geddes, Rev Wilfred Westlake

Jim Logan (Chairman)

Cathy Breward (Secretary)

Mike Grove, Glenys Nixon, Rose Bruce, Ian Hollows


The date of the next meeting: To be advised

Venue: Normally St Joseph's Hall at 7:30 pm